In accordance with the charity’s constitution, the Trustees are responsible for the strategic management of the charity.

One of the Trustees is appointed by Harrow Deanery Synod for a three year term of office. The current nominated representative is Kim Parry.

Other Trustees are elected annually at the charity’s Annual General Meeting. The Trustees elected at the 2019 AGM are as follows:

Val Austen
Val has been with HBC/BC since 2006, as Secretary then Trustee and Chair of Fundraising & Awareness committee. She is a retired Biology teacher and Police Admin/Court Officer, and has been a carer for 40 years.

Neena Bedi
Neena has been associated with Bereavement Care and Harrow Bereavement Care for several years in her role as Group Leader of Asian Bereavement Care. She joined the trustees in 2015.

Richard Jones
Richard worked for BT for over 30 years before retirement during which time he designed and managed many billing systems developments. He was also an active member of a local rugby club both at a playing level and on the committee having captained and served as Hon Sec, Vice Chairman and Chairman. Married and father of two boys both currently at University.

Revd. Edward Lewis (Chair)

Fr Edward has been a hospital chaplain for two thirds of his ministry. He set up support groups for parents who had suffered neo-natal losses, whilst a chaplain in the Midlands. He served as a trustee of Bereavement Care for 5 years, prior to becoming Chairman.

Jack Lynes

Jack was Chair of Harrow Bereavement Care (HBC) until 2014 and led the transition of HBC to the Charitable Incorporated Organisation of Bereavement Care as we know it today.

Helena Reid

Bobbi Riesel
Bobbi Riesel was trained as a Bereavement Visitor with HCBVS (now Bereavement Care) and later completed training as a Psychodynamic Counsellor. She is a Bereavement Group Leader and has served on the Management Committee (now the Board of Trustees) for many years and as Head of Training, is responsible for organising the initial and on-going training of our volunteers.

Jean Seymour (Honorary Secretary)
Jean joined Bereavement Care as a trustee in 2015. Her background is in management and administration. She has also been a volunteer for Michael Sobell Hospice and was on their board of trustees for several years.

Leslie Pappoe (Honorary Treasurer)
Having worked extensively in finance and being actively involved in charitable work, Leslie joined the trustees in 2019.